Tribal Profile

Tribal Profile

  • Descendants of the Plains and Sierra Miwok who lived and prospered in the Sacramento Valley
  • 1958 Rancheria Act terminated federal trusts; Congress ratified the termination in 1964
  • Federal recognition lost in 1964, restored in 2009
  • Over 700 members currently
  • Over 62% live in South Sacramento County
  • 40% of members under 18
  • 60% of tribal youth reside in Elk Grove Unified School District

Long-term effects of termination: poverty, health, & social problems

  • 62% unemployment rate (U.S. average: 6.3%)
  • Median annual income $20,000 (U.S. poverty line for family of four: $24,000/yr.) 
  • 38% without health insurance (U.S. average: 10.4%)
  • College graduation rate 14% (U.S. average: 34%)

Wilton Rancheria Tribal Elected Officials

Raymond Hitchcock

Chair
  rhitchcock@wiltonrancheria-nsn.gov

Cammeron Hodson

Vice-Chair
  chodson@wiltonrancheria-nsn.gov

Tonya Caldwell

Tribal Council Spokesperson
  tcaldwell@wiltonrancheria-nsn.gov

David Andrews

Tribal Council Vice Spokesperson
  dandrews@wiltonrancheria-nsn.gov

Mark Andrews

Tribal Council Member
  mandrews@wiltonrancheria-nsn.gov

Jesus Tarango

Tribal Council Member
  jtarango@wiltonrancheria-nsn.gov

Elizabeth Singh

Tribal Council Member
  esingh@wiltonrancheria-nsn.gov

Annette Williams

Tribal Council Member
  awilliams@wiltonrancheria-nsn.gov

Joseph Rangel

Tribal Council Member
  jrangel@wiltonrancheria-nsn.gov